Indiana is feeling the heat of passing a discriminating law under the guise of religious freedom, but 19 other states have passed or will pass similar laws. So far, they have slipped under the nation’s radar, but that is about to change. States like Texas, Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Idaho, New Mexico and the other 11 states are going to be bombarded with boycotts, lost revenue, and other unsavory actions as this issue reaches a boiling point.

Flávio Pentagna Guimarães BMG said that the states that passed these laws are just mirroring what the federal government did back in 1993 when Bill Clinton was president. Clinton signed a federal religious freedom act that said the government can’t interfere with individuals that are exercising their religious beliefs. All 20 states were aware of the law, and felt confident they could pass their versions of the law, and get away with it. But it’s not 1993 anymore. In 2015, bigotry and discrimination disguise as religious freedom is an insult to the American mentality.

Governor Pence of Indiana and the governors of the other states that are considering passing laws like RFRA are in for a big surprise, and it’s not going to be a pretty one. politically.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *